2024 erik kirkland memorial prize

2024 erik kirkland memorial prize

The Erik Kirkland Memorial Prize originates from tragedy—the death of a promising young man in a military accident. If anything positive can come from such misfortune, this award, in some small way, accomplishes this.

The Writers Institute wishes to thank John and Sara Kirkland for giving their blessing to the creation of this endowed prize. Each year, the memory of Erik’s contribution to the writing program at Susquehanna University, in particular, his term as editor of the literary magazine (1988-1989), will be remembered by current students and faculty through the awarding of this prize to an extraordinary student writer.

Pieces published in both essay’s print and online issues are considered. This year, prize winners were selected by Anna Badkhen.


Olive Lambert


Ella Baker

Brooke Mitchell